Adjala – Tosorontio

Adjala – Tosorontio was created 1993 when the Townships of Adjala and Tosorontio were merged. Tosorontio is a Huron word meaning ‘Beautiful Mountain’.

Angus / Essa

Angus is the largest community in Essa Township and the main access to the neighbouring Canadian Forces Base Borden. Angus is located in the northwestern part of Essa.


Barrie is a city positioned on the shores of Kempenfelt Bay, the western arm of Lake Simcoe. In the war of 1812 Barrie played a big role and became a supplier depot for British forces.


The town was first surveyed in 1820. From almost unbroken virgin forests the town has hewn. The name Innisfil comes from the Irish ‘Inis Fáil’ and ancient mythological name for Ireland.

Mulmur – Mono

When land uses changed and the population grew the town of Mono became the result of governmental changes. “The heart of headwaters” – Slogan of town Mono.

New Tecumseth

New Tecumseth is a town of Simcoe County. The municipality was founded 1820 through the amalgamation the municipal governments of these communities. Main centres are Alliston, Tottenham and Beeton.